Skip to content

Niagen Plus review

By Marcus HaleLongevity Research Editor
Updated

One kit, one honest price — on a route the company's own trials don't cover

$149 one-time buys an at-home injection kit with the $20 doctor consult inside it and free next-day shipping — from the company whose ORAL ingredient has 40+ human studies, selling a subcutaneous route backed by none it can cite.

We may earn a commission if you sign up through our links, at no cost to you. How we make money.

Key details

Advertised price
"Prescription Niagen® Injection Kit for $149 — delivered to your door." Product page: "Regular price $149" · "Free Next Day Air shipping" · "Price includes a doctor consultation fee of $20."
Billing details
$149 in a single charge. There is no subscription option, no membership, and no lab fee; how long a kit lasts depends on the prescribed protocol, and the site does not state doses per kit — so a monthly cost cannot be derived from the public page.
Pharmacy
Invoked twice, contradictorily, and never named: the product page's disclaimer says "Compounding is performed by a licensed 503B outsourcing facility" while the same page and a collection page say the kit "ships from a licensed 503A compounding pharmacy". Those are different regulatory categories, and no pharmacy name appears anywhere on the site. Clinicians: "All providers are licensed physicians practicing within your state"; for Rhode Island and Vermont the site links a PDF of ~30 named physicians with license numbers, as those states require. The operator is ChromaDex, Inc., a subsidiary of Niagen Bioscience, Inc., Los Angeles.
Availability
"Currently not available to ship to Alabama, Arkansas, California, and Massachusetts" — stated on the product page; eligibility elsewhere is confirmed during the telehealth intake.
Review coverage
Separate review. Not ranked: our rankings cover NAD+ therapy sellers, and Niagen Plus sells injectable NR — a different molecule by the same route. We review it because it is the biggest brand in the precursor world moving into injections, and readers ask about it.

Our verdict

Niagen Plus is ChromaDex's own telehealth arm — the Tru Niagen company — selling a prescription Niagen At-Home Injection Kit for a one-time $149 with the doctor consultation fee included and free next-day-air shipping. As a purchase, it is simple: no subscription, no membership, no plan ladder, a full refund if the physician declines you, and pricing that is exactly what it says. As a product, it turns the company's own strength upside down: ChromaDex's credibility is built on oral NR's genuinely deep trial record, and this kit delivers NR by a subcutaneous route whose "clinically studied and shown to be safe and well-tolerated" claim appears on the site with no study attached. The site also cannot decide who fills it — one page says a 503B outsourcing facility, another says it ships from a 503A compounding pharmacy, and neither is named.

NAD+ evidence

Injectable NR is a different claim from oral NR, and this site treats it that way. Oral NR is the best-evidenced molecule in this category — real randomized trials show it raises blood NAD+, with a dedicated safety study of the branded ingredient. None of that transfers automatically to a subcutaneous route: the site's "clinically studied and shown to be safe and well-tolerated" line for the injection carries no citation, and its IV evidence is a preprint the site itself flags as not peer-reviewed, measuring the biomarker rather than any outcome. No human outcome trial of injected NR by any route is cited anywhere on the platform.

Pricing and fees

Advertised price
"Prescription Niagen® Injection Kit for $149 — delivered to your door." Product page: "Regular price $149" · "Free Next Day Air shipping" · "Price includes a doctor consultation fee of $20."
Payment terms
$149 in a single charge. There is no subscription option, no membership, and no lab fee; how long a kit lasts depends on the prescribed protocol, and the site does not state doses per kit — so a monthly cost cannot be derived from the public page.
Pricing details
None found — the advertised figure is the recurring one.

Additional fees

  • Full refund if the prescription is not approved (7-10 business days); the order expires and auto-refunds if the intake is not completed within 30 days
  • Once a prescription is approved and issued, the order is final — no refunds or returns
  • Payment precedes the medical intake: you buy first, then complete the questionnaire a physician reviews

Prices are from Niagen Plus's own website and can change without notice.

Who it may suit

May suit you if

  • You want a one-time purchase with the consult inside the price and no subscription machinery
  • You want the precursor company with the deepest oral-trial record, extended to an injectable format
  • You want a stated refund if the physician does not approve you
  • You want free next-day shipping and in-account chat with the prescribing provider

Consider another option if

  • You live in Alabama, Arkansas, California, or Massachusetts — the kit does not ship there
  • You want the vial strength on the page before buying — the consumer site does not publish it
  • You want human evidence for the injected route — the site's own citations are oral studies and an unreviewed IV preprint
  • You want to know which pharmacy compounds your medication — 503A and 503B are both invoked, neither named

What’s included

Consultation
Included — the $149 explicitly contains the $20 physician consultation fee.
Lab testing
Not mentioned anywhere on the site.
Follow-up care
In-account chat with the provider who approved the prescription; no separate fee stated.
Clinical support
Provider chat plus a help-desk portal; no nurse or coach layer is described.
Supplies
The company's launch materials describe a complete kit (vial, bacteriostatic water, syringes, prep pads); the consumer site itself lists "all materials and instructions for at-home administration included".
Shipping
Free Next Day Air, stated on the product page.

Limitations and policy details

The company that owns the best evidence file in this category chose to sell past it. Niagen Plus's own FAQ leans on "40+ published human clinical studies in oral form" — and then attaches the safety halo to a subcutaneous kit with the uncited sentence that it "has been clinically studied and shown to be safe and well-tolerated in human studies", a claim no named study on the site supports. The dose you would be injecting is not published on the consumer page, the compounder is described as a 503B on one page and a 503A on another without ever being named, and you pay before the physician reviews your intake. A company this rigorous about its oral trials knows exactly what an uncited safety claim is.

Other considerations

  • The injected route has no cited human study — the site's evidence base is oral NR and an unreviewed IV preprint
  • Vial strength and doses per kit are not published on the consumer site
  • 503B and 503A are both claimed for the same kit, and the pharmacy is never named
  • Payment comes before the medical intake, with sales final once prescribed
  • Not available in AL, AR, CA, or MA

Cost calculators

How this site makes money

We may earn a commission when you buy a product or start care through our links, at no extra cost to you. Affiliate partners appear first in our provider comparison. Read the full disclosure.

View Niagen Plus

Every figure on this page comes from Niagen Plus’s own site, and prices change without notice. Read every provider review.

Medical disclaimer: This content is for general educational purposes only and is not medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a licensed healthcare professional before starting, stopping, or changing any treatment.